Mark your calendars! ABT company/Nutcracker auditions are Saturday, Sept. 12. Times TBA.

Summer Dance information is here! Click on the sun!


Open house studio registration for the 2015-2016 school year for new students (and returning students who did not pre-register in May) is Thursday August 13th from 10:00-3:00. View our class schedule, teachers, tuition rates, etc on line at Classes will be filled on a first come, first serve basis. To insure you get the class or classes you need for your schedule, you must register on the 13th or send someone to register for you. Classes will begin after Labor Day.

Registration fee of $20 and first month's tuition due on day of registration.









Ballet Abilene Important dates:

Nov. 24-28, 2014 Thanksgiving break
Dec. 22, 2014-Jan. 2, 2015 Christmas break
Feb. 12, 2015 Love in Bloom-ABT Valentine performance
March 10-14, 2014 Spring Break
March 25-29, 2015 Regional Dance America/SW Festival Monroe, LA
May 23, 2015 Ballet Abilene Spring recital

We do not take AISD or WISD teacher workdays. Classes will be canceled due to severe weather.


Abilene Ballet Theatre is a member of :












Welcome to the Abilene Ballet Theatre website.

On these pages, you can learn about our many different programs and offerings as well as information about our performances and staff.

We have a talented company of local dancers, and we also present guest artists such as Nadya Zybine and Rafael Padilla of Ballet Austin; veteran Broadway performer Christine Colby-Jacques; Ballet Magnificat of Jackson, Mississippi; Raymond VanMason, former principal dancer with Ballet West; and Allynne Stoller of Inland Pacific Ballet.

We are proud of the work of our company choreographers and are also privileged to work with guest choreographers such as the late Kevin Brown and Amy Dillard Green of Dallas, Karen Corey Malik of New York, Stephen Mills of Ballet Austin, Joe Istre of New York and Raymond VanMason of California.


Twelve ABT dancers performed as munchkins and "Winkies" in the National Tour of The Wizard of Oz in Abilene in 2010. Dancers are shown with the Wizard, Robert John Biedermann.

ABT was proud to receive the STREAM AWARD 2006 for artistic excellence and growth at the Regional Dance America Southwest Festival in The Woodlands.

ABT was the only dance company to perform for the Texas Commission on the Arts in 1992.

We hosted the Regional Dance America/ Southwest Festival in 1993.

Our Nutcracker production was featured on ABC's Good Morning America in 1998 and in Southern Living magazine in 1999.

ABT dancers have been selected by audition for summer dance workshops at Atlanta Ballet, Boston Ballet, State Ballet of Missouri, Dance Aspen, Ballet Austin, Orlando Southern Ballet Theatre and American Ballet Theatre.

Lisa Gore-Etter, Ballet Abilene teacher and ABT associate director, was awarded the Monticello Scholarship Award for choreography at Regional Dance America/ Southwest Festival in 2002.

Lindsay McGill, Ballet Abilene teacher and ABT associate director, was recognized for excellence in emerging choreography and awarded the Natalie Skelton scholarship for her piece "Tribal Drums" during the 2009 regional festival in Sugar Land, Texas, She received a full scholarship and attended the Craft of Choreography Conference which was hosted by Pacific Northwest Ballet, in Seattle, Washington

ABT dancers have received dance scholarships at Texas Christian University, University of Oklahoma, West Texas A & M and Walnut Hill.